Florida DUI & BUI Defense Attorney
Driving or boating under the influence (DUI/BUI) in Florida is never a good idea. If you are caught and charged, the repercussions can last a lifetime. According to the circumstances, you may lose your license, your freedom, your job, and you may have to attend driving school. Thankfully, there are defenses available to you if you are facing DUI and BUI charges, which is why it is essential that you retain an attorney that understands the ins and outs of criminal law, and more specifically, DUI/BUI defense. As a former assistant state attorney, Donald C. Barrett, Attorney at Law, has the skill and experience you need to ensure you receive the best defense possible. Contact his office today for a free initial consultation.
The penalties received for a DUI charge depend on multiple factors, including whether it is a first, second, third, or subsequent offense. Possible penalties for a first or second offense include:
- Fines: For a first offense, fines range from $500 to $1,000. For a second offense, from $1,000 to $2,000.
- Incarceration: For a first offense, incarceration cannot be for longer than six months. For a second offense, no longer than nine months.
- Loss of driving privileges: Depending on whether or not this is a first or second offense, as well as the time between offenses, you may lose your license for a period of 180 days to five years.
- Ignition Interlock Device: May be required depending upon the blood alcohol content (BAC), number of offenses, and how close together in time the offenses occurred (if more than one).
Third and fourth offenses carry even stiffer penalties. To know exactly what penalties you may be facing, you will need to speak with a Florida criminal defense attorney.
- In 2018, there were 32,177 arrests for DUI in the state of Florida. Of the 32,177 arrests, 69 were juveniles. This averages out to a little more than 88 arrests per day.
- There were 814 alcohol-impaired fatalities in Florida in 2018.
- 63.4% of alcohol-impaired driving fatalities in Florida during 2018 involved drivers with a high blood alcohol content (BAC) of .15+.
- 29% of all fatalities that occur while driving are caused by alcohol.
BUI In Florida
Florida is a state known for its beautiful bodies of water and easy access to the ocean. Because of this, many residents and visitors alike enjoy spending time on the water. Unfortunately, some of these individuals choose to drink alcohol while operating a watercraft. This can lead to a BUI charge. To be charged with BUI, a person must:
- Have a BAC of .08% or higher; and
- Impaired mental and physical capabilities due to alcohol OR another controlled substance
Like DUIs, being convicted of BUI can lead to fines and incarceration. The penalties faced will depend on whether the charge is a first, second, or subsequent offense.
Speak With A Skilled Criminal Defense Attorney
If you’ve been charged with DUI or BUI, you need to an effective defense prepared by a trial attorney that knows and understands Florida DUI and BUI laws and procedure. At Donald C. Barrett, P.A., we provide a defense that minimizes as much as possible the effect the DUI/BUI charge has on your life. Contact us today to schedule a free initial consultation.